Asheville: (828) 333-5024 | Charlotte: (704) 215-4242 | Gastonia: (704) 323-8485 | Waynesville: (828) 333-5035

Minick Law Blog

What Is a 50-B? Domestic Violence, Defined

  Domestic violence laws are couched in NCGS 50-B, which establishes the definition of Domestic Violence. The same statute also prescribes the remedies for the victims, as well as the applicable penalties to defendants.   North Carolina defines domestic... read more

Do I Need To Hire A Lawyer For A Divorce?

This is one of the first and most frequent questions most people ask when faced with a divorce in North Carolina. It’s an important question to ask. Moreover, this question serves as an umbrella to a number of other common questions and concerns that deserve... read more

4 Frequently Asked Questions about DUIs in Arizona

Guest authored for Minick Law Blog by Attorney David Michael Cantor.   Arizona is notoriously rough on drivers who get behind the wheel intoxicated. If found guilty of a DUI, you’re facing mandatory jail time, fines and surcharges; you will lose your driving... read more

Are the Police Allowed To Use Force?

Right now, the topic of “police brutality” is buzzing through the media airwaves. Do a search on Google for “police brutality” and you’ll almost certainly find an article on the subject written within the last 24 hours. Bloggers, politicians, social activist and many... read more

Assault on a Female

  There are dozens of different types of assault in North Carolina, and one of the most serious misdemeanor assaults is Assault on a Female. Punishable as a Class A1 misdemeanor, a first time offender with no prior convictions could spend up to 60 days in jail.... read more

Blog contact form

5 + 4 =