In North Carolina, MDA or MDMA, the active ingredient in Ecstasy is classified as a Schedule I Controlled Substance under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-89(3)(c) and (d). As such, there are various crimes that an individual can be charged with regarding the drugs of MDA or MDMA. The crimes listed below are the most common crimes that we can help our clients with. Each crime lists the required elements that the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt and the punishments for conviction of the crime.

Possession of MDA or MDMA

Elements

A person is guilty of this offense under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(a)(3) if they:

  1. Knowingly
  2. Possess (this element does not require that MDA or MDMA be found on the person charged so long as the person can be seen to have control over the area where the MDA or MDMA is found)
  3. MDA or MDMA

Punishment

The possession of MDA or MDMA in North Carolina is considered a Class I felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(d)(1).

Manufacturing of MDA or MDMA

Elements

A person is guilty of this offense under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(a)(1) if they:

  1. Knowingly
  2. Manufacture (producing, preparing, processing, packaging, or labeling)
  3. MDA or MDMA

Punishment

The manufacturing of MDA or MDMA in North Carolina is considered a Class I felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(b)(1).

Sale or Delivery of MDA or MDMA

Elements

A person is guilty of this offense under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(b)(1) if they:

  1. Knowingly
  2. Sell or deliver
  3. MDA or MDMA
  4. To another

Punishments

The sale of MDA or MDMA in North Carolina is considered a Class G Felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(b)(1). The delivery of MDA or MDMA in North Carolina is considered a Class H Felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(b)(1).

Possession of MDA or MDMA with Intent to Manufacture, Sell, or Deliver

Elements

A person is guilty of this offense under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(a)(1) if they:

  1. Knowingly
  2. Possess
  3. MDA or MDMA
  4. With the intent to manufacture, sell, or deliver it

Punishment

Possession of MDA or MDMA with intent to manufacture, sell, or deliver is considered a Class H felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(b)(1).

Trafficking in MDA or MDMA

Elements

A person is guilty of this offense under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(h)(3) if they:

  1. Knowingly
    (a) sell, manufacture, deliver, transport, or possess; or
    (b) conspire to sell, manufacture, deliver, transport, or possess;
  2. MDA or MDMA or any mixture containing MDA or MDMA
  3. To another person (if the person sells or delivers), and
  4. The quantity of MDA or MDMA or mixture containing MDA or MDMA is:
    1. 100 dosage units or more, but less then 500 dosage units, or 28 grams or more, but less then 200 grams; or
    2. 500 dosage units or more, but less then 1,000 dosage units, or 200 grams or more, but less then 400 grams; or
    3. 1,000 dosage units or more, or 400 grams or more.

Punishment

The punishment for trafficking in MDA or MDMA in North Carolina is determined by the quantity of MDA or MDMA the individual has at the time of arrest.

If an individual sells, manufactures, delivers, transports, or possesses in excess of 100 dosage units but less then 500 dosage units or in excess of 24 grams but less then 200 grams, they are guilty of a Class G felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(h)(4b)(a). A Class G Felony carries a minimum sentence of 35 months and a maximum sentence of 51 months in State prison and at least a $25,000 fine.

If an individual sells, manufactures, delivers, transports, or possesses 500 dosage units or more but less then 1,000 dosage units or in excess of 200 grams but less then 400 grams, they are guilty of a Class F felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(h)(4b)(b). A Class F Felony carries a minimum sentence of 70 months and a maximum sentence of 93 months in State prison and at least a $50,000 fine.

If an individual sells, manufactures, delivers, transports, or possesses 1,000 dosage units or more or 400 grams or more, they are guilty of a Class D felony under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-95(h)(4b)(b). A Class D Felony carries a minimum sentence of 175 months and maximum sentence of 222 months in State prison and at least a $200,000 fine.

Contact us today at Minick Law to set up a FREE initial consultation on your criminal case.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!