THE CONSEQUENCES OF A DWI CHARGE IN NORTH CAROLINA
After receiving a DWI charge, most people are unaware of the consequences of a DWI charge in North Carolina. Generally, DWI charges not only carry potential criminal punishments, but also hefty financial costs and revocation of driving privileges.
One of the largest consequences of getting a DWI for an individual is having their license revoked. This revocation comes in two phases. First, after being initially charged with a DWI, an individual is faced with an automatic thirty-day Civil Revocation period. However, ten days after the charge, it is possible for an individual to obtain a limited driving privilege that would allow them to drive for certain purposes (school, work, etc.) for the rest of the thirty-day Civil Revocation period. After the Civil Revocation period expires, the individual’s license is in full force and effect until the DWI has been resolved (either with a conviction or a not guilty verdict). The second phase of license revocation occurs after a conviction has been obtained. As such, an individual who has been found guilty of a first time DWI will have their license revoked for a one-year period immediately following their conviction. However, in most cases, a limited driving privilege can yet again be obtained to allow driving for certain purposes (work, school, etc.) during that one-year period.
Costs and Fees
After either pleading guilty or being convicted of a DWI, an individual is going to be faced with a variety of costs. First, the judge will issue a fine for being found guilty of a DWI. This fine could range anywhere from $200 for a first-time offense to up to $10,000 for a felony DWI (typically a DWI that involves a death or a repeat DWI offender). Additionally, on top of the fine, the individual will also have to pay court costs. Since each court has their own individual procedure for determining court costs, this fee is hard to predict. However, it is generally several hundred dollars. Additionally, there may be miscellaneous costs associated with a DWI such as: fees for alcohol assessments and treatment, limited driving privilege fees, and license reinstatement fees.
If a person is convicted of a DWI in North Carolina, their car insurance provider is legally allowed to raise that person’s insurance by up to 400%. The insurance company does this not only to protect its own business interests (people with DWI are more of a financial risk), but also due to the fact that a DWI conviction puts 12 insurance points on a person’s record. Because earning one insurance point on a driving record through a speeding ticket increases insurance rates, twelve points makes insurance rates skyrocket. Additionally, these points will remain on the person’s driving record for a three-year period (as long as no additional points are levied during that time period).
If you or someone you know have been charged with a DWI, it is important to consult with an experienced DWI criminal defense attorney that can help zealously defend your case. Contact Us at Minick Law, P.C. for a free consultation on your case.
James Minick is founder and C.E.O. of Minick Law, P.C. James is committed to providing top notch legal services through his team of highly specialized legal professionals. James will defend your rights.